Wk2 – Classmate Interview – Darlene Nguyen

For this week’s classmate interview, I had the privilege of meeting and talking to Darlene Nguyen. As I was wondering around Maccabee Shelley’s exhibit, I happened to come across one of the sweetest people I have met this semester. As we were both walking around, we began to talk. She was so energetic and positive that it was so easy to talk to this absolute stranger. I enjoy meeting new people and was so glad that I met someone who seemed to be quite similar to myself. We walked and admired the art, and then sat down and began to get to know each other.

Like me, she is a first year, second semester student at Cal State Long Beach. My first impression appeared too be correct. She was so nice and friendly. I learned that she has two younger brothers and comes from a very hardworking a driven family. With her parents, absolutely ambitious and dedicated to their work, Darlene stayed with her grandparents until the age of nine. It was there that her love of art began to develop. She was always at her grandparent’s house, often all alone.Soon, she began to draw to occupy herself. No one else in her family is artistic, but still, she began to become passionate about it. Her favorite, she told me, is oil pastels. She loves the smoothness and easiness of the pastels, as well as the fact that they are so colorful and messy! Even though she is pursuing a career in the medical field, she will always have art as something to turn to.

I was absolutely amazed by this interview. In the short amount of time that we had together, I found out so much about this person that I probably wouldn’t have. The conversation seemed effortless and it was fun to just hang out with my new friend. Along the way, I noticed some wonderful aspects of who Darlene is as a person. You can tell she’s the kind of person who loves to make other people smile. She was kind, genuine, and so easy going. She has such a good vibe, and is the kind of person that anyone would love to be around. I loved this experience and was glad I made such a fabulous new friend. I can’t wait to meet more people this semester.IMG_9124

Leave a Reply

